February 22, 2010

Libby Larsen, James Levine to receive George Peabody Medal

The Peabody Institute has announced that the George Peabody Medal for Outstanding Contributions to Music in America will be presented to two individuals in 2010: Libby Larsen and James Levine.

Larsen, a composer and founding member of the American Composers Forum (originally the Minnesota Composers Forum), will receive the medal and speak at the Conservatory’s graduation ceremony on May 27. Levine, music director of the Metropolitan Opera since 1976 and of the Boston Symphony Orchestra since 2004, will receive the medal on May 3 at a special presentation in New York.