September 20, 2010

Center for a Livable Future announces 17 predoc fellowships

The Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future has awarded predoctoral fellowships to 17 Johns Hopkins University students for the 2010–2011 academic year. The awards provide support for outstanding students who are committed to the discovery and/or application of knowledge related to CLF’s two main program areas, Farming for the Future and Eating for the Future.

Recipients of Farming for the Future Predoctoral Fellowships are Ann Carroll, Environmental Health Sciences; Ricardo Castillo, Epidemiology; Meghan Davis, Environmental Health Sciences; Beth Feingold, Environmental Health Sciences; Jillian Parry Fry, Health Policy and Management; Linnea Laestadius, Health Policy and Management; Yessika Mashinski, Environmental Health Sciences; Melissa Poulsen, International Health; and Supriya Shah, Health Policy and Management.

Recipients of Eating for the Future Predoctoral Fellowships are Megan Clayton, Health, Behavior and Society; Jennifer Hartle, Environmental Health Sciences; Holly Henry, Health, Behavior and Society; Lisa Lagasse, Health, Behavior and Society; Rebecca Nachman, Environmental Health Sciences; Remle Stubbs-Dame, International Health; Amber Summers, Health, Behavior and Society; and Patti Truant, Health Policy and Management.

Each CLF Predoctoral Fellowship award provides one year of support in an amount up to $60,000 to be used for tuition, stipend and/or research expenses, depending on individual needs. Students are eligible for support during any stage of their doctoral program and must be enrolled in any division of The Johns Hopkins University in a PhD, ScD or DrPH program.

The program, now in its eighth year, is made possible through the generous support of an anonymous donor.