December 13, 2010

Cheers — December 13, 2010


David M. Bishat has been promoted to professor, with tenure, in the Department of Population, Family and Reproductive Health.

Robert Black, the Edgar Berman Professor in International Health and chair of the Department of International Health, is a recipient of the Prince Mahidol Award in the field of public health, which recognizes “outstanding contribution in the field of public health for the sake of the well-being of the peoples.” Black, whose research and activities focus on reducing the unnecessary deaths of children worldwide from infectious diseases and malnutrition, is being recognized for his work on zinc supplementation. His studies in Bangladesh, India, Peru and Zanzibar demonstrated that daily zinc supplementation significantly reduced the severity of diarrhea and pneumonia. Black shares this year’s award with Ananda S. Prasad of Wayne State University and Kenneth H. Brown of the University of California at Davis. The $50,000 prize will be conferred on the recipients by King Bhumibol Adulyadej of Thailand at a ceremony to be held Jan. 26 in Bangkok. The award honors King Bhumibol’s late father, Prince Mahidol of Songka, who modernized medical services and education in Thailand and is known to the country as “the father of modern medicine and public health.”

David Holtgrave, professor and chair of the Department of Health, Behavior and Society, was named by Poz magazine to the Poz 100 list of top AIDS fighters. Poz, a print and online magazine for people living with and affected by HIV/AIDS, called Holtgrave “the go-to man for anyone (including the federal government, pharmaceutical companies and groups like the National AIDS Fund) who wants to understand the statistical intricacies of AIDS in America.” Holtgrave recently served as a member of the Presidential Advisory Council on HIV/AIDS.


Yingyao Hu has been promoted to associate professor, with tenure, in the Department of Economics, effective Jan. 1.

Henry P. Maguire has been appointed professor emeritus in the Department of History of Art.

Jacques “Jacky” Neefs has been appointed to the James M. Beall Chair in French Literature, in the Department of German and Romance Languages and Literatures.


Faculty artist Manuel Barrueco, who was featured in the October issue of Classical Guitar Magazine, has released a new solo guitar CD, Tarrega.

Jasmine Hogan, a senior, tied for third prize in the Under 21 age division of the Second International Harp Competition, held in November in Szeged, Hungary. She was chosen after two rounds of competition from a group of 18 competitors from 10 countries.

Yao Lu, a student in the Master of Arts Program in Audio Sciences, won first prize in the Stereo Classical Category at the Audio Engineering Society’s Student Recording Competition, held in November in San Francisco. Her prize included a Pyramix, a digital audio workstation.

Master of Music candidate Jake Runestad’s five-minute choral piece I Will Lift Mine Eyes, based on Psalm 121, was recently published by Boosey & Hawkes as part of the Choral Music Experience Conductor’s Choice Series.


Gianfranco Pasquino, senior adjunct professor of European studies at the Bologna Center, was elected to a three-year term as president of the Societa Italiana di Scienza Politica (Italian Association of Political Science), a nonprofit cultural entity that aims to support the development of political science in Italy. Pasquino was a member of the Italian Senate from 1983 to 1996, parliamentary observer for the plebiscite and presidential elections in Chile in 1988 and 1989, respectively, and is the author of numerous books on political science, as well as articles and reviews in academic journals, policy forums and news outlets.


Gary L. Rosner has been appointed to the Eli Kennerly Marshall Professorship in the Department of Oncology.

Vered Stearns has been appointed to the Breast Cancer Research Chair in the Department of Oncology.


Douglas A. Granger has been appointed professor, with tenure, on the research/education track.


Gary Brooker, associate research scientist in the Center for Multifunctional Applique, has been elected a fellow of the Optical Society of America. He is being recognized for the development and application of optical techniques and instrumentation for 3D fluorescence microscopy and high-content drug screening.

Brian K. Jennison, an assistant group supervisor in the National Security Technology Department at APL, has been named chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering in the school’s Engineering for Professionals programs. Jennison has been involved since 1992 with the EP programs, where he has served as an instructor, adviser, member of the Program Committee, department vice chair and, most recently, interim chair.

Sean Sun, associate professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, has been awarded the Humboldt Research Fellowship for Experienced Researchers from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation. This annual award provides support to researchers who are pursuing long-term research projects at host institutions in Germany. The fellowship will support Sun’s upcoming sabbatical in Dresden.